Anthony Albanese has unveiled his new government, with many senior Labor politicians finally stepping into prominence as they take on more ministerial roles.

The cabinet ministers will be responsible for implementing Prime Minister Anthony Albanese’s campaign promises, from legislating an Indigenous Voice to Parliament to establishing a federal anti-corruption commission.

The new cabinet has already made history in the walls of Parliament House, with more women being sworn in than ever before, and Australia’s first ever Muslim ministers joining the cabinet.

“I want to see us move towards 50/50 representation across all of the spectrum,” Albanese said on Monday.

“I also want to see a parliament and a government that reflects the diversity that is there of the Australian people themselves.”

“This is an exciting team, it’s a team which is overflowing with talent, with people who are absolutely committed to making a difference as ministers and assistant ministers in my government,” he said.

So, who are the new Labor ministers? And what are their roles?

First up (behind Prime Minister Anthony Albanese, of course) is Richard Marles, the deputy prime minister and minister for defence.

As deputy leader, Marles was able to choose his portfolio, opting for defence over his previous shadow ministries of national reconstruction, employment, skills and small business and science.

In his new roles, Richard Marles will step in as acting Prime Minister when Albanese is out of the country, and will also be responsible for the organisation, implementation, and formulation of government policy in defence and military matters.

Next, Senator Penny Wong, the minister for foreign affairs.

The foreign affairs minister is the minister who is responsible for overseeing the international diplomacy section of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Jim Chalmers is stepping into the role of Treasurer, and will be responsible for handing down the Labor government’s first budget later this year.

The Treasurer plays a key role in the economic policy of the government.

Next up is Katy Gallagher, the minister for finance, minister for the public service, and minister for women.

Gallagher will have three varied roles with her new titles, as she will be responsible for Australia’s overall finances, handling non-corporate agencies, and delivering policies and programmes to advance gender equality and improve the lives of Australian women.

Senator Don Farrell, minister for trade and tourism and special minister of state, will work closely with Senator Wong to establish relationships with foreign countries to strengthen Australia’s trade agreements.

He will also be responsible for special administrative matters within the government.

Tony Burke, the minister for employment and workplace relations and minister for the arts, will advocate for the rights of workers in Australia.

He will also be responsible for obtaining funding and sponsors to keep Australia’s art scene alive.

Mark Butler, the minister for health and aged care, is responsible for national health and medical research policy, providing direction and oversight of the Department of Health.

He will also be tasked with the reform of Australia’s aged care facilities.

Chris Bowen, the minister for climate change and energy, will be a key player in enacting Albanese’s campaign promises of radical action on climate change.

Tanya Plibersek, the minister for the environment and water, provides direction and oversight of the Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment to develop and implement national policy, programs and legislation to protect and conserve Australia’s environment and heritage.

Catherine King, the minister for infrastructure, transport, regional development and local government, will be responsible for all of the matters falling within the Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications portfolio, including regulation, safety and funding.

Linda Burney, minister for Indigenous Australians, will ensure that Indigenous programs and services are delivering for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as intended, while also aiding the constitutional reform to include the Uluru Statement of the Heart.

Amanda Rishworth, the minister for social services, will oversees government social services, including mental health, families and children’s policy, and support for carers and people with disabilities, and seniors.Bill Shorten, the minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme and minister for government services, will oversee the NDIS funding and operation, while also overseeing government services such as Medicare and Centrelink.

Mark Dreyfus, the attorney-general and cabinet secretary, will protect the rule of law and the integrity of the Courts, while also being in charge of cabinet administration.

Brendan O’Connor, the minister for skills and training, will advocate for vocational training funding programs to keep the workplace moving.

Jason Clare, the minister for education, will oversee policies and programs in the education system, while also advocating for student support.

Julie Collins, the minister for housing, minister for homelessness, and minister for small business, will serve to explain and prevent the further rising of housing prices, while also advocating for small business owners.

Michelle Rowland, the minister for communications, will be responsible for telecommunications in Australia, as well as broadcasting and the information economy.

Madeleine King, the minister for resources and minister for Northern Australia, will oversee agricultural resources in Australia.

Senator Murray Watt, the minister for agriculture, fisheries and forestry and minister for emergency management, will advocate for the preservation of Australia’s diverse lands that can often be threatened by environmental factors.

Ed Husic, the minister for industry and science, works with environmental government agencies to bring together industries for an economic boost.

Clare O’Neil, the minister for home affairs and minister for cyber security, will be responsible for Australia’s cyber policy coordination and setting the strategic direction of Government’s cyber effort.

Image credit: Getty Images

This article first appeared on OverSixty.